NaNoWriMo… what?!

I’ve done it! I’ve gone and joined the National Novel Writing Month organization! The challenge is to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days! That’s 1667 words a day. Obviously, not many real works of literature are created in this month, even with 119,000 participants last year. That’s to be expected. And I am most assuredly not expecting to buck that trend.

The reason that I joined this challenge is that I used to write everyday. And not just angst poetry (though there was a great deal of that in high school), but all types of styles. And now, I am beginning to find myself enjoying writing most days. I like writing for this blog, my tweets are short and sweet and working on my website gives me a certain pleasure. What’s missing is the scheduled, structured writing that something like this ridiculous challenge affords. And I’m just tickled pink!

I don’t have any clue as to what topic to write about. That’s even scarier than the amount of words! Does anyone have any ideas? I would, of course, love something pet or dog related, but any suggestions are welcomed. Leave a comment below and have a bark-tastic day!

Leave a Reply

