Surgery on Monday

Hey there folks! I had my surgery on Monday and everything has gone fine so far. In case you missed earlier posts discussing the surgery, it was a laparoscopy to diagnose and hopefully treat my possible endometriosis. Several hours and two small incisions later, I awoke to feel actually pretty good.

Roger was at work, so mom took care of me. I was able to walk around the grocery store after leaving the hospital as there were a few things that we forgot to pick up beforehand. I ate, and ate, and ate as Sunday was the clear liquid diet day… blah! Yesterday I got the pathology results back and it was endometriosis and not cancer. So that’s always good!

Things are looking up! I’m not able to run yet, which no one would expect a few days after surgery! I’m getting nervous about the half marathon coming up (October 17th) because the longest run that I did was 7.5 miles before the pain was getting to be too much. And then I cut way back and have pretty much only done runs with dog walking clients. I’m not sure that I’m ready for it, but I’ve already paid! I’m kind of thinking that I will just do it to finish, but I also don’t want to die! ­čÖé Anyway, I’ll try to keep you all up to date as that gets closer.

Any advice about the half marathon? Should I do it or not? Or any tips about getting back on the running shoes faster? Any help appreciated!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Krysta,

    Well you had a couple of days and I hope you are feeling well. I also had a laparoscopy to check for endometriosis. I did not have it but I was mentally worn out for some time. Here you are at the grocery store and talking about running a marathon, bravo to you! My advise regarding the marathon, take it slow, take care of yourself and trust your instinct. Take care.

    Gisele

    Reply

    • Thanks Gisele! I’m still tossing around the idea of the half, but I’m leaning towards yes. I’m thinking this might be my long distance event for several years to come and then I can return to the normalcy of 10ks. I’m not even considering running much of the half, maybe doing 5 minutes jogging followed by 5 minutes walking in order to finish without keeling over!

      And yes, I am up this late! Enjoying whiskey and energy drinks – a combination I’m sure to regret tomorrow morning! hehe… But Arrested Development is so entertaining and I now suddenly have so much energy!

      Krysta

      Reply

Leave a Reply

